This is the second time this has happened, two different doctors, and I’m pissed and confused.
1) I saw my neurologist for migraines. He asks how often I am having them, I say every day. I’m a fucking mess in that office, I think it’s clear that I didn’t even have the energy to make shit up just to… get meds?…. if I wanted to. He seems sympathetic and prescribes me a “month’s worth” of meds.
The meds arrive, and there’s 8 packets. I look at the notes from my visit and he reported that I’m in pain 8 days a month. So, now, instead of crippling migraines 30 days a month, I now only have them 22 times a month! What the fuck?
2) I went on medical leave a few months ago for a combination of physical and mental health. For a lot of reasons, it was documented just as severe depression and suicidality.
My doctor asks how often I’m depressed, and I say every day. She asks me how long I’ve been dealing with depression, and I say 14 years. So she fills out all of the paperwork I need to submit for medical leave, and then, months later, it gets bounced back to me because she recorded that I am depressed two days a week and that it’s not a chronic condition. I’m sorry, do I need 15 years in order for it to qualify as chronic??
I had 0 payments from work and only 1/2 of the medical leave pay over my three months of leave because 2/days a week and not chronic qualifies for brief/intermittent leave, not a full three months. I had to borrow money for the first time in my life, and thank god I’m privileged enough to have a family member who could lend me money. Eventually I got all the payments - months later and after I had returned to work - but only after she had to re-do the paperwork for the same reason THREE TIMES.
Is there some, like, billing/reporting/diagnostic something that incentivizes doctors to minimize stuff like this? Because I’m pissed and I’m feeling like a Karen-energy for the first time in my life.
0 nhận xét:
Đăng nhận xét